Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Volleyball Alum earns NCAA postgraduate scholarship

Volleyball Alum earns NCAA postgraduate scholarship

INDIANAPOLIS ( - The NCAA has announced the fall sport recipients for the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship program. Blugold Volleyball alum Katrina Raskie will receive a $7,500 scholarship to be applied toward her graduate program.

The NCAA awards Postgraduate Scholarships to student-athletes who are in their final year of college athletics eligibility. Up to 175 scholarships are awarded each year for use toward an accredited graduate program. Awardees are evaluated on their academic and athletic achievement, campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership. The program rewards college athletes whose dedication and effort reflect the characteristics needed to succeed in graduate study.

Awardees are chosen by the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Committee, which includes faculty athletics representatives, athletics administrators and a conference commissioner.

"Throughout her time at UW-Eau Claire, Katrina was an exemplary student, athlete, teammate and leader," said Head Volleyball Coach Kim Wudi. "She is so deserving of this honor and I couldn't be more proud of her. Every one of Kat's accomplishments was the result of tireless effort, commitment, and perseverance, and I know she will continue to do great things in graduate school and in life."

Raskie, who graduated in a year ago in December with a 4.0 grade point average, now attends graduate school at UW-Stout with plans to graduate in the spring of 2019.

"To receive this scholarship is truly such an honor and privilege," said Raskie. "Being a student-athlete for four years meant the world to me. I was always pushed to be a better athlete, student and person and now to be able to continue my education and be supported towards my dreams means so much to me. I wouldn't be where I am or who I am without my experiences and relationships I built as a Blugold student-athlete."

For information on past winners, award criteria, and the nomination process and deadlines, visit