Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Volleyball Selected to 2011 NCAA Championships

Volleyball Selected to 2011 NCAA Championships

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ( – The UW-Eau Claire volleyball team will make its seventh straight appearance in the NCAA Championships, NCAA officials announced today.

The Blugolds earned an at-large bid after finishing in third place in the WIAC Tournament this past weekend.

Eau Claire will open regionals against St. Thomas University (Minn.), Friday at 3 p.m. Other teams in the eight-team regional, which will be hosted by Concordia-Moorhead (Minn.), are St. Scholastica (Minn.) St. Benedict (Minn.), Northwestern (Minn.), Bethel (Minn.) and UW-Stevens Point. Find the complete bracket at

The regional will kick off Friday, November 11 and will conclude Sunday.

The Blugolds have faced every team in their region, with the exception of St. Thomas. In 2010, the Blugolds competed against St. Thomas three times with the last time being in the second round of the NCAA Championships.

Eau Claire has played in 14 matches against teams in this year's championships bracket and holds a 5-9 record. Twelve of the Blugolds' first 20 matches this season were contested against opponents who appear in this year's bracket.

More information will be posted when it becomes available.

Related Links
Official NCAA Announcement
Interactive Bracket
Printable Bracket
View Blugolds' Complete NCAA Post-Season Tournament history