Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Tennis Earns Win Over UWO and Competes in Whitewater Invite

Women's Tennis Earns Win Over UWO and Competes in Whitewater Invite

Whitewater, Wis.- ( The UW-Eau Claire women's tennis team earned their first win of the season over UW-Oshkosh on Sept. 1. Following their 7-2 win over the Titans the Blugolds traveled to Whitewater to compete in a singles and doubles draw tournament.

UWO Results   |   UWW Invite Results

In their first match of the 2017-18 season, the Blugolds defeated UW-Oshkosh 7-2. The Blugolds won two of three doubles matches, starting with an 8-3 win from No. 2 doubles duo Molly Stewart (Amery, Wis.) and Emily Cooper  (Whitebear, Minn.).  Molly Sanvik (Winona, Minn.) and Hannah Zevenbergen (Baldwin, Wis.) started their doubles season with an 8-3 win at the No. 3 doubles slot. The Blugolds won five of six singles matches including a 6-2, 6-2 win at the No. 1 singles by Natalie Wijesinghe (Apple Valley, Minn.). Also earning their first victories in singles action for the year was: Sarah Henderson (Prior Lake, Minn.), Stewart, Sanvik and Kendra Berry (Duluth, Minn.). 


In the UW-Whitewater Invite Kendra Berry (Duluth, Minn.) came away the #3 singles draw champion for the second year in a row. Berry won her first round match in dominant fashion (6-0, 6-0) over Claire Padrnos (Grinnell). The junior defeated Chadick (Augustana) in her second round and advanced to the championship match. Berry earned her #3 singles champion title with a 6-4, 6-0 win over Kassie Alexander (UWW). Sarah Henderson (Prior Lake, Minn.) competed in the #2 singles draw tournament. The senior won her first round match 6-3, 6-4 over Favia (Carthage) before dropping her 2nd round match to eventual champion Hickey (Grinnell).  Natalie Wijesinghe (Apple Valley, Minn.) had a good showing in the #1 singles draw tournament with first and second round victories. Wijesinghe lost in the championship match to Talyansky (UWW).

In doubles play the pair of Molly Stewart (Amery, WI) and Emily Cooper  (Whitebear, Minn.) took 7th at number one doubles. Molly Sanvik (Winona, Minn.) and Hannah Zevenbergen (Baldwin, Wis.) won the consolation championship at number two doubles. The pair earned a convincing 6-4, 6-1 win over Grinnell in the consolation final. At number three doubles Blugolds Hannah Koch (Duluth, Minn.) and Gabby Oswald (Watertown, Wis.) lost their first round game to UWW but rebounded to win two matches and earn the consolation championship. 


The Blugolds will host UW-Sout and Saint Benedict (Minn.) on Sept. 9 at 9:00 am and 3:00pm, respectively.