Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Swimming and Diving announces team awards

Swimming and Diving announces team awards

By Tommy McGowan, UWEC Sports Information

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - This past weekend, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire men's and women's swimming and diving teams came together for their year-end banquet, honoring the award winners of the 2018-2019 season. A number of awards were handed out, including Freshman of the Year, Hardest Worker, Most Improved, Most Inspirational, Diver of the Year and Swimmer of the Year. The captains for the 2019-2020 were also announced during the banquet.

On the men's team, Swimmer of the Year was awarded to Collin Miller (Jr.-Rochester, MN/Schaffer Academy). Miller had a terrific season, breaking four school records and three conference records at the WIAC Championships. A few weeks later at the NCAA Division III National Championship, Miller won the National Title in the 100-yard breaststroke, while taking home three All-American trophies after finishing third in the 200-yard IM and 100-yard freestyle.

The other Blugold to compete at the National Championships was Dylan Glumac-Berberich (Jr.-Fridley, MN), who took home Diver of the Year honors. At the National Championships, the junior earned All-American honors, finishing as the national runner-up in 3-meter dive and seventh in the 1-meter dive.

The rest of the awards go as follows: Freshman of the Year to Michael Bylander (Fr.-Baxter, MN/Brainerd), Hardest Worker to Jack Poppitz (Fr.-Apple Valley, MN/Eastview), Most Improved to Allen Hirsch (Fr.-Brooklyn Park, MN/Champlin Park) and Most Inspirational to Caleb Odmark (Sr.-White Bear Lake, MN).

On the women's side, Swimmer of the Year was awarded to Sam Senczyszyn (Sr.-Grafton, WI). Senczyszyn also competed at the National Championships, winning three All-American honors (100-yard breaststroke, 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle). Diver of the Year was given to Sarah Dahlk (Fr.-Verona, WI/Middleton).

Rounding out the awards on the women's side was Freshman of the Year to Paige Pelikan (Fr.-New Berlin, WI/New Berlin West), Hardest Worker to Anna Pagel (So.-Hillsboro, OR/Oregon), Most Improved to Vaia Mandravelis (So.-Golden Valley, MN/Robbinsdale Armstrong) and Most Inspirational to Brittany Farr (Sr.-Madison, WI/James Madison Memorial).

The captains for next year will be Mandravelis, Anna Theisen (Jr.-Glenbeulah, WI/Plymouth), Breanna Kimmes (Jr.-Hastings, MN) for the women and Glumac-Berberich, Andrew Shane (Jr.-Kenosha, WI/Badger) and Greg Pehl (So.-New Brighton, MN/Irondale) for the men.

Follow the action all season long on Blugold Game Day or on the free 'UWEC Blugolds' app on your mobile device.


Swim & Dive falls to Tommies
January 25, 2019 Swim & Dive falls to Tommies