Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blugold Women's Swimmer Grace Fair Named WIAC Scholar-Athlete

Blugold Women's Swimmer Grace Fair Named WIAC Scholar-Athlete

MADISON, Wis. ( - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's Grace Fair (Sr.-Monticello, Minn.), UW-La Crosse's Abby Diehl and UW-Stevens Point's Andrea Wagner have been selected recipients of the 2013 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Judy Kruckman Women's Swimming & Diving Scholar-Athlete Award.

View Announcement on

Fair, a senior from Monticello, Minn., boasts a 3.92 grade point average and is majoring in mass communications - public relations with a minor in business administration.  She was named to the 2012 Capital One NCAA Division III Academic All-District Six Women's At-Large First Team.  A three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll, Fair graduated with Summa Cum Laude honors and appeared on UW-Eau Claire's Dean's List numerous times.

A team captain, she has been a member of two All-America Honorable Mention relay teams and won the 100-yard freestyle at the 2012 WIAC championship.  Fair has been part of two relay squads that own school records and was voted her team's "Most Inspirational."

She is a member of the Public Relations Student Society of America and the International Association of Business Communicators.  Fair has served as a campus ambassador, a student research assistant and teaching assistant at UW-Eau Claire.  She has also worked as a public relations intern for Wisconsin Public Radio and local YMCA.

A senior from Prairie du Sac, Wis. (Sauk Prairie), Diehl is majoring in community health education with a minor in psychology and owns a 3.70 grade point average.  She is a three-time All-Academic selection from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America and a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll.  Diehl has appeared on UW-La Crosse's Dean's List many semesters.

She is an 11-time WIAC champion, winning two individual titles and nine relay crowns.  Diehl is a seven-time All-American and was named a team captain for the 2011-12 and 2012-13 seasons.  For the 2010-11 season, she was selected her team's Most Improved Swimmer.

Diehl is a member of the Eta Sigma Gama and Golden Key Honor Societies.  She has served on UW-La Crosse's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and as a member of a search and screen committee to select a new head swimming coach.  Diehl has worked as a peer tutor for UW-La Crosse's Student Support Services.

Wagner, a senior from Apple Valley, Minn., maintains a 3.79 grade point average and is majoring in English with a minor in history and creative writing.  She is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and has appeared on UW-Stevens Point's Dean's List.

She owns four WIAC relay titles and won the 100-yard freestyle in 2011.  Wagner earned All-America First Team recognition in 2010, and All-America Honorable Mention honors in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Wagner, a team captain this season, was selected her team's MVP in 2011-12 and holds school records in the 100-yard freestyle and 200 and 400-yard freestyle relays.

Wagner is a member of the Phi Eta Sigma, Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Tau Delta Honor Societies and served as president of the University Writers.  She has worked as a reading and writing tutor on her campus and as a copy intern for Eastbay/

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98.  Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from October 1984 - September 1996.  Kruckman was the women's athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WWIAC when it formed in 1971.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average.  In addition, she must be in her last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.