Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Two Blugolds Earn Titles on Day Two of WIAC Championships

Two Blugolds Earn Titles on Day Two of WIAC Championships

BROWN DEER, Wis. ( – Two UW-Eau Claire swimmers won titles while five school records fell on the second day of the 2012 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Swimming & Diving Championships at the Walter Schroeder Aquatic Center today.

Both Alex Card (So.-Prior Lake, Minn.) and Nicole Dorvinen (Sr.-Green Bay, Wis./Bay Port) won conference crowns today.

Card took the top spot in the 100-yard breaststroke with a school-record and NCAA B-cut time of 56.12 seconds. The previous school record was 57.08 seconds, set by Wes Sinclair in 1990.

Dorvinen won the 400-yard individual medley for the third straight year with a time of 4:27.58, an NCAA B-cut mark. She is the third individual in WIAC listings to win the event three consecutive years, joining UW-Stevens Point's Nan Werdin (1991-93) and UW-Eau Claire's Brianna Crowley (1999-2001). Earlier in the day, she also set a school record in an official time trial in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 57.84 seconds. The previous school record of 58.53 seconds was set by Julia Olson (Sr.-Faribault, Minn.) on March 24, 2011.

The Blugolds also came away with two runner-up finishes.

Sara Eggebrecht (Jr.-Abbotsford, Wis./Colby) came in with a time of 57.37 seconds in the finals of the 100-yard backstroke. She initially broke the school record in preliminaries (57.43), then re-broke in the finals. The previous school record was 58.37 seconds, set by Megan Finley on February 12, 2010.

The men's 800-yard freestyle relay team of Card, Jake McDade (Fr.-Monona, Wis./Monona Grove), Ben Epperly (So.-Schaumburg, Ill.) and Spencer Rose (So.-Brookfield, Wis./Central) also came in with a runner-up finish with a time of 6:58.66.

Additionally, two other school records were broken. The women's 200-yard medley relay team was third with a time of 1:46.52 (previous school record was 1:46.88 set on Feb. 18, 2011) while Emily Behrens (So.-Faribault, Minn.) broke her own school record in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:06.83 (previous school record was 1:06.90 set on Feb. 18, 2011).

In team results, the Blugold women dropped one spot to second place with 492 points while UW-La Crosse leads with 603. The Blugold men remained in fourth with 339 points while UW-Stevens Point leads the field with 565.

The WIAC Championships will conclude tomorrow with competition beginning at 10 a.m.