Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blugold Soccer Announces Team Award Winners

Blugold Soccer Announces Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - UW-Eau Claire soccer coach Sean Yengo recently announced the winners of the annual team awards at the year-end banquet.

Megan Hillesheim (Sr.-Ham Lake, Minn./Blaine) picked up two of the team's top awards, earning the most valuable player award and, for the second consecutive year, recognition as defensive player of the year. Hillesheim started all 21 games and was part of a defensive unit that averaged just .90 goals allowed each game, second best in the conference. In addition, she tallied a goal and an assist of her own. Hillesheim was also named the Sept. 8 WIAC defensive athlete of the week and selected to the All-WIAC soccer team.

Rachel Nerison (Jr.-Maple Grove, Minn.) earned the title offensive player of the year. Nerison, who also earned a spot on the All-WIAC team, started in all 21 of the Blugolds' games and led the team in scoring with nine goals and five assists. Her five game-winning goals were also the most of any player in the WIAC. Nerison was also the conference's Sept. 14 offensive athlete of the week.

The playmaker of the year award was given to Allie Stone (Fr.-Madison, Wis./Verona Area). Stone picked up four goals and two assists in her 21 games as starter and also made the all-conference team. In addition to the playmaker award, Stone also earned recognition as the alumni freshman player of the year. 

Gina Williams (So.-Madison, Wis./Verona) was named the 2010 most improved player. This year, Williams competed in all 21 of Eau Claire's games, compared to just 14 last season. Williams also totaled five goals and four assists in the 2010 campaign.

Practice player of the year went to Emily Moore (So.-Brookfield, Wis./Brookfield Central), who started in four of the 18 games she played this season, and Jamie Schiesel (Sr.-Plymouth, Minn./Armstrong) picked up the team's golden shoe award, collecting two goals and four assists on the year.

In the team's drill challenges, other Blugolds receiving awards were: Nerison (1v1 champion and long-range shooting), Stone (heading challenge), Moore (heading clearance challenge), Michelle Shannon (Sr.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial) (Blugold Olympics), Amanda Hakala (So.-Stillwater, Minn./Stillwater Area) (LRS/Heading challenge/1v1'sGoals Against Average) and Williams (Champions League).