Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five Women's Golfers, Coach Honored with All-Conference Awards

Five Women's Golfers, Coach Honored with All-Conference Awards

Announcement from WIAC

MADISON, Wis. ( – After winning the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championship, the UW-Eau Claire women's golf team received three first team honors and co-coach of the year recognition, the WIAC announced today.

Catherine Wagner (Jr.- Austin, Minn.), Sara Mattes (Sr.- La Crosse, Wis./Central) and Emily Swift (Sr.- Onalaska, Wis.) earned three of the five spots on the conference first team roster. Wagner averaged 78.55 strokes on the season, just shy of the conference-best 78.54 strokes. In five competitions, Wagner placed in the top-five three times and the top-10 four times, including an individual victory at the SMSU Mustang Invitational. This is Wagner's third consecutive appearance on the first team.

Mattes earned two top-five finishes and four top 10s this season. She had the second-lowest total on the team, with a stroke average of just 80.5. Mattes received last season's conference player of the year award.

Swift also picked up her third consecutive first-team nomination. Swift averaged 81.9 strokes and tallied two top-five finishes. Swift also earned this year's Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award for excellent academic achievement.

The Blugolds also earned two all-conference second team spots for Kate Engler (Fr.- Beloit, Wis./F.J. Turner) and Maggie Lattery (Sr-Lake Nebagamon, Wis./Northwestern). Engler competed in four events and averaged 83.7 strokes on the season. She recorded her best finish of 10th at the WIAC championship.

Lattery played all 11 rounds this season and averaged 82.2 strokes. She scored one top-five and two top-10s, including a fourth place finish at the WIAC Championship. Lattery also earned a spot on the conference all-sportsmanship team. Members of the all-sportsmanship team are recognized for their outstanding display of sportsmanship throughout the season.

Head coach Meghan Sobotta also received conference recognition, earning co-coach of the year honors. She shared the award with Stout coach Howie Samb. This is Sobotta's second year at the helm of the women's golf team.