Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Softball Announces Team Award Winners

Softball Announces Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, WI ( – Head women's softball coach Leslie Huntington recently announced the team award winners for the 2014 season.

Outfielder/catcher  Amanda Fischer (Jr.-Wausau, WI/West) earned Most Outstanding Performer and Big Stick awards.  Playing in all 41 games, Fischer ranked first on the team in home runs (11), runs batted in (43), runs (49) and stolen bases (31) while ranking third in batting average (.386).  Fischer earned several awards for the 2014 season including NFCA All-American Third Team, NFCA Great Lakes Region First Team and WIAC All-Conference First Team honors.  Fischer was the team Rookie of the Year in 2012.

Outfielder Sam Noetzelman (Fr.-Delano, MN) earned the Most Improved award.  In 17 games Noetzelman batted .290 on nine hits, including five doubles, while scoring nine runs and totaling eight runs batted in.

Infielder Leah Wolff (Fr.-Middleton, WI) received Rookie of the Year honors.  Appearing in 37 games in which she started 35, Wolff batted .297 ranking sixth in hits (27) and 15 runs batted in.

Infielder Gracia Larson (So.-Eau Claire, WI/Hillcrest Academy) earned the Blugold "Skeet"Award. The Skeet Award is named after former Blugold Mandy Freidel – nicknamed "Skeet" - who always encouraged her teammates and played with passion. 

Infielder/outfielder Amanda Houle (Sr.-Chisago City, MN/Chisago Lakes) received the Golden Glove award.  Houle earned the team Most Improved award in 2012.  Student Manager Kade Antczak was presented with the Coaches Appreciation Award.