Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Track & Field Team Award Winners Announced

Men's Track & Field Team Award Winners Announced

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - UW-Eau Claire men's track and field head coach Chip Schneider recently revealed the winners of the 2013 team awards.

Thurgood Dennis (So.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) was named team MVP. Dennis won two individual national titles and was part of two relay teams to win national titles this season. He won the outdoor 100-meter dash and the indoor 60-meter dash while he was part of the winning 4x400-meter relay titles at both indoor and outdoor nationals. He is now an eight-time All-American (four outdoor, four indoor). Dennis also won five conference titles this season (three outdoor, two indoor). He currently holds nine school records, four of which he set this season.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Brandon Zarnoth (So.-Appleton, Wis./North). Competing in the indoor heptathlon and the outdoor decathlon at nationals, Zarnoth became a two-time All-American after taking second in the decathlon and eighth in the heptathlon in his first season with the Blugolds.

Marty Richardson (Sr.-Appleton, Wis./Kimberly) earned the Captain Award. Richardson was part of the 4x400-meter relay team that won outdoor nationals this year and is now a three-time All-American (two outdoor, one indoor).