Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Thurgood Dennis Earns Conference and Regional Honors

Thurgood Dennis Earns Conference and Regional Honors

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( – UW-Eau Claire men's track member Thurgood Dennis (So.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) was honored recently by both the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) and the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) for his efforts during the 2013 outdoor season.

View WIAC Announcement

View USTFCCCA Announcement

For the second straight year, Thurgood Dennis secured the Track Performer of the Meet from the WIAC Championship. He is the third individual in conference history to win the award in back-to-back years, joining UW-Stout's Terry Anders (1995-96) and UW-La Crosse's Andrew Rock (2003-04).

At the WIAC Championship this season, Dennis won the 100-meter dash and 200-meter dash with facility-record times of 10.43 and 20.96, respectively.  His mark in the 200-meter dash is the best in the WIAC this season.  Dennis was also a member of the third-place 4x100-meter relay team and fourth-place 4x400-meter relay team.

He was also named the USTFCCCA Track Athlete of the Year in the Midwest Region. Prior to nationals in La Crosse May 23-25, Dennis was the division's top ranked athlete at 100 meters (10.30) and 200 meters (wind-aided 20.96 [2.1]). He also held a top-20 national spot in the 400 meters and anchored the division-leading 4×400 squad (3:08.31). He helped his team win the Drake Relays college-division title in the 4×100.