Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Tennis squads announce team award winners

Tennis squads announce team award winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire tennis teams have announced their team awards for the 2017-18 season.

Andrew Dahl (Sr.-Fort Atkinson, WI) and Molly Stewart (Jr.-Amery, WI) were named Player of the Year honors. Dahl finished his senior year with a 13-4 singles record and 12-7 in doubles. He also was given the team's Blugold Award. Stewart's win streak of nine to close out the season led to a 20-3 singles record and a 16-6 mark in doubles.

The Most Improved Player was awarded to Renan Barros (So.-Itajai, Santa Catarina, Brazil/Univ. Norte do Parana) and Hanna Zevenbergen (So.-Baldwin, WI/Baldwin-Woodville). The Brazilian finished his season on a seven-match win streak in singles and a 13-1 overall doubles record. Zevenbergen played to a 14-2 singles mark and 23-5 doubles record.

Daniel Schoen (Jr.-Brookfield, WI/Brookfield Central) and Natalie Wijesinghe (So.-Apple Valley, MN) were presented with the Team Award. Schoen tallied a 13-5 singles record and 11-8 doubles record. Wijesinghe went 21-5 in singles and 19-5 in doubles.

The women's Blugold Award winner was Sarah Henderson (Sr.-Prior Lake, MN), who went 21-5 in singles competition and 20-5 in doubles.

Finally, the Coaches Awards were given out to Tom Williams (So.-Burnsville, MN) and Kennedy Rusk (Nisswa, MN/Brainerd). This pairing went undefeated on the season, with Williams going 1-0 in singles and Rusk 2-0 in singles and 1-0 in doubles.

The men's team finished with an overall record of 18-5, and the women went 18-1 with a 15-1 conference record.

Follow the Blugolds next season on Blugold Game Day or the UWEC Blugolds app on your mobile device.