Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blugolds earn 5 of 8 top awards at WIAC Championships

Blugolds earn 5 of 8 top awards at WIAC Championships

BROWN DEER, Wis. ( – The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire swimming and diving teams turned in a strong finish at the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Championships (presented by Culver's) on Saturday, with the Blugolds claiming the Men's and Women's Swimmer of the Year, Men's Diver of the Year, Women's Coach of Year and the Women's Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Championship Website | Saturday's Results | Full Meet Results

Collin Miller (Jr. – Rochester, MN/Schaeffer Academy) won the Swimmer of the Year honors for the second time in his career as the junior earned the honor in the 2016-17 as well. On Saturday, Miller won the 100-yard freestyle in conference meet record time of 43.95.  Miller broke four school records and three conference records and his 100 breaststroke time is currently the top time in the country.  The 100 breast and 100 free were also school records along with the 200 medley and 400 medley relays he was a part of.

Dylan Glumac-Berberich (Jr. – Fridley, MN) took Diver of the Year honors for the second-straight season after winning the 1-meter dive on Friday and claiming the 3-meter on Saturday with a score of 546.95.

Sam Senczyszyn (Sr. – Grafton, WI) was named the Swimmer of the Year for the third time in her career. On Saturday, Senczyszyn won the 100-yard freestyle in 50.23 seconds and was also on the winning 4x400 freestyle relay team with Brittany Farr (Sr. – Madison, WI/James Madison Memorial), Katherine O'Connell (Fr. – Green Bay, WI/Ashwaubenon) and Olivia Hanzak (So. – Crystal, MN/Robbinsdale Armstrong).

As a team, the Blugold women finished second and the men third:

Women's Team Scores:

1. UW-La Crosse 835

2. UW-Eau Claire 798

3. UW-Whitewater 651

4. UW-Stevens Point 541

5. UW-Oshkosh 296

Men's Team Scores:

1. UW-Stevens Point 816

2. UW-La Crosse 721

3. UW-Eau Claire 671

4. UW-Whitewater 541

5. UW-Oshkosh 311

Head Coach Annie Ryder was named Women's WIAC Coach of the Year, claiming Coach of the Years honors for the third time in five years.

In addition, Senczyszyn also earned the Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award. Kruckman served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from October, 1984 - September, 1996. Kruckman was the women's athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WIAC when it formed in 1971. She was inducted into the WIAC Hall of Fame in 2012.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, they must be in their last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.

"I am so incredibly proud of this team and the way they raced, competed, cheered, and swam as a team," said Ryder. "I have never had a group who was all in and all about the team as much as this group was. They had an incredible season and we are looking forward to NCAAs."

The Blugolds will look to continue their success at the NCAA Championships March 20-23 in Greensboro, North Carolina.


Swim & Dive falls to Tommies
January 25, 2019 Swim & Dive falls to Tommies