Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blugolds Swimming & Diving announce team awards

Blugolds Swimming & Diving announce team awards

By: Jake Krier, UWEC Sports Information

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - Recently, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire men's and women's swimming and diving programs gathered for their annual year-end awards banquet. With ten Blugolds qualifying for the NCAA Championships this year, the accolades came in abundance. At the team's banquet, they honored those who found much success in the pool this season.

Capping off very successful seasons with impressive performances at the national meet, Samantha Senczyszyn (So.-Grafton, WI) and Collin Miller (Fr.-Rochester, MN/Schaeffer Academy) were named Most Valuable Swimmers. Senczyszyn defended her 100-yard breaststroke title, winning it for the second time in as many years, while Miller's debut season concluded with a number of finishes in the consolation finals at the meet.

Miller was also named Newcomer of the Year. On the women's side, it was awarded to Anna Theisen (Fr.-Glenbeulah, WI/Plymouth).

A pair of swimmers who also competed at the NCAA Championships, Brittany Farr (So.-Madison, WI/James Madison Memorial) and Ben Fisher (Sr.-Roselle, IL/Lake Park), were named the team's Most Inspirational. The two contributed to multiple successful relay teams for the Blugolds.

Additionally, Farr was named the Hardest Worker for the women's team. For the men, it was awarded to Konrad Plomedahl (Sr.-Madison, WI/Sun Prairie). Most Improved was given to Kali Drachenburg (So.-Wales, WI/Kettle Moraine) and John Kemp (So.-Andover, MN).

As for the divers, Bailei Hughes (Jr.-Winona, MN) and Dylan Glumac-Berberich (Fr.-Fridley, MN) were named Most Valuable Divers.

The final award given out was to assistant coach Nick Hora. He was given the Blugold Award, which is given to someone who demonstrates what it means to be a Blugold in the pool and out.

Already looking ahead to next season, the captains were named. For the women, it will be Brittany Farr, Jessica Short (So.-Grafton, WI), and Sari Mailey (Jr.-Minnetrista, MN/Mound Westonka). Then for the men, they will be led by Logan Coert (Jr.-Cedarburg, WI), Caleb Odmark (So.-White Bear Lake, MN), and Konrad Plomedahl.

Follow the action all season long on Blugold Game Day