Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Blugolds Earn 14 Spots On WIAC All-Time Team; Tom Prior Named All-Time Coach

Blugolds Earn 14 Spots On WIAC All-Time Team; Tom Prior Named All-Time Coach

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Men's Swimming and Diving All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

A total of 14 Blugolds were named to the All-Time Team while Tom Prior was named the All-Time Coach.

Men's Swimming and Diving All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Alex Anderson UW-Stevens Point 2003-06 La Crosse, Wis.
Pat Anderson (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1986-89 Minneapolis, Minn. (Patrick Henry)
Randy Boelk UW-Stevens Point 1998-2001 Embarrass, Minn.
Jim Brennan (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1978-81 Niles, Ill. (Notre Dame)
Phil Devine UW-Oshkosh 2009-12 Winnebago, Ill.
Jeremy Francioli UW-Stevens Point 1997-2000 Londrina, Brazil
Kevin Gelwicks UW-Stevens Point 1990-93 Normal, Ill.
Mark Green (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1980-82 Green Bay, Wis. (Abbot Pennings)
Chase Gross UW-Stevens Point 2006-09 Edina, Minn.
Chris Hansman UW-Stevens Point/
Neenah, Wis.
Jim Harmon (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1977-79 Racine, Wis. (Case)
Paul Harris UW-Oshkosh 1982-85 Hinsdale, Ill. (Central)
Steve Hollman (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1984-87 Muskego, Wis.
Dan Jesse UW-Stevens Point 1977-80 Rhinelander, Wis.
John Karpe (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1996-99 Coon Rapids, Minn.
Chris Keefe UW-Oshkosh 1972-75 Oshkosh, Wis.
Jerry Kollross UW-La Crosse 1980-84 Greendale, Wis.
Tom Loftus (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1971-74 Madison, Wis. (LaFollette)
Matt Ninneman (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1995 Madison, Wis. (West)
Matt Oglesby (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1999-2002 Lake Geneva, Wis. (Big Foot Union)
Tom Olson UW-Platteville 1966-69 NA
Nino Pisciotta UW-Stevens Point 1987-88, 90-91 Madison, Wis.
Anthony Schmidt UW-La Crosse 2004-07 Plymouth, Minn. (Wayzata)
Wes Sinclair (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1989-91 De Pere, Wis. (West)
Jeff Stepanski UW-Stevens Point 1983-86 Menasha, Wis.
Bill Underwood (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1990-93 St. Cloud, Minn. (Tech)
Jeff Voelz (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1973-74 Wauwatosa, Wis. (East)
Jeff Weber (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1979-82 Hales Corners, Wis. (Whitnall)
Eric Winter (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1992-95 St. Cloud, Minn. (Tech)
Jim Young UW-Superior 1969-72 Arlington Heights, Ill.
Men's Swimming and Diving All-Time Coach:  Tom Prior (UW-Eau Claire) (1970-99) - More Info
*Indicates hometown and high school while attending school

WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration