Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s hockey award winners honored at year-end banquet

Photo by Bill Hoepner, UWEC Photo
Photo by Bill Hoepner, UWEC Photo

By: Jake Krier, UWEC Sports Information

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - Last weekend, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire men's hockey team held their year-end banquet. The following awards were handed out to their deserving winners: Wallace G. Akervik Award, Most Dedicated, Richard G. O'Brien Award, and the Jeff Jaraczewski MVP Award.

The Wallace G. Akervik Award is given to the team's top freshman player. This season, it was awarded to Adam Parsells (Fr.-Wausau, WI/Wausau West). The defender appeared in 24 games for the Blugolds in his freshman campaign. He scored thirteen points on the year, spread amongst two goals and eleven assists. Parsells finished with a +/- of +10 in his first season with Eau Claire. He was previously named to the All-Conference Team.

Jacob Wolter (Sr.-Fairbanks, AK/Lathrop) was named Most Dedicated. Wolter finished his senior season appearing in fifteen games, scoring ten points (five goals and five assists), and posting a +11 in the +/- category.

His twin brother, Colton Wolter (Sr.-Fairbanks, AK/Lathrop), received the Richard G. O'Brien Award. This honor is chosen for a player who has excelled on and off the ice. Wolter capped off his senior year by putting up excellent numbers. He scored eight goals and assisted fourteen in 28 games played. He, too, was named to the All-Conference Team.

The Jeff Jaraczewski MVP was awarded to Jake Hopfner (Sr.-Eastpointe, MI/Warren Woods Tower). The senior forward lit the lamp seven times and was credited for ten assists. He appeared in 27 contests and finished with a +3. Like Parsells and Wolter, Hopfner was also previously named All-Conference.

The men's hockey team finished the 2017-18 season with a record of 17-10-1, highlighted by winning the Commissioner's Cup in the WIAC Championship.

Follow the action all season long on Blugold Game Day.