Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Hockey takes home Commissioner's Cup with 3-2 win over UWSP

Men's Hockey takes home Commissioner's Cup with 3-2 win over UWSP

STEVENS POINT, Wis. ( – The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire men's hockey team won the Commissioner's Cup on Saturday, defeating UW-Stevens Point 3-2 in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Championship (presented by Culver's).

Box Score | WIAC Championship Website

UW-Eau Claire would strike first, as Mac Jansen (Sr. – White Bear Lake, MN) took advantage of an early power play and found the back of the net from the point to give the Blugolds the lead halfway through the first period. Johnny Mueller (Jr. – St. Peters, MO) and Jesse Tredinnick (Sr. – Onalaska, WI) earned assists on Jansen's 11th goal of the season.

Eau Claire would outshoot the Pointers 11-6 in the second period but it was Stevens Point's Carter Roo who would score, tying it up with just over a minute left to play in the frame.

Early in the third, Eau Claire would tally two goals in three minutes to get back on top. Todd Koritzinsky(Sr. – Verona, WI) gave Eau Claire the lead at 3:27 off an assist from Mueller while Alex Strand (So. – Roseau, MN) beat Pointer goaltender Max Milosek with a backhand to give the Blugolds a 3-1 advantage. Adam Parsells (Fr. – Wausau, WI) would tally the assist on the goal.

The Pointers would score late to keep things interesting, but it would be too little, too late as the Blugolds won their first WIAC title since 2014.

Goaltender Zach Dyment (Fr. - Abbotsford, BC) made his 15th straight start in net for Eau Claire and saved 24 of the 26 shots he saw on the night.

The Blugolds (17-10-1, 4-3-1 WIAC) will now wait to see if they will get an at-large bid into the NCAA Tournament.