Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Hockey Wins Championship

Men's Hockey Wins Championship

ADRIAN, Mich. ( – The UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team was named champion today as it defeated Buffalo State 3-1 in the championship game at the Adrian Thanksgiving Tournament.

Ross Andersen (Fr.- River Falls, Wis./River Falls) got the game going for the Blugolds as he scored the first goal of the day at 1:55 in the first period.  The period stayed quiet as neither team got a penalty and no other goals were scored.   The Blugolds did outshoot the tigers 10-6.

The Blugolds came out after the first period break and again scored a goal in the first two minutes.  Jimmy McCusker  (So.- Novi, Mich./Novi) got his shot between the pipes and found the back of the net after he got a pass from Drew Darwitz (Jr.- Woodbury, Minn./Cretin-Derham Hall) at 1:20.  Minutes later Buffalo State player Justin Knee was called two minutes for cross checking and the Blugolds took advantage of the power play opportunity. Eight seconds after Knee was sent to the penalty box, Isaiah Bennis (Jr.-Eau Claire, WIs./Memorial) scored the third goal of the day for the Bludgolds to put them ahead 3-0. 

The Tigers tried to come back in the third period and were able to get a goal on the board, but it just was not enough.  The Blugolds were able to win the championship.  UW-Eau Claire improves to 6-4-0 on the season.   They outshot the Tigers 28-19 on the day.  Tyler Romasco (Sr.-Perry, Ohio/Perry) and Brandon Stephenson (Jr.-Saline, Mich./Saline)  were named Players of the Tournament. 

Stephenson had 18 saves on the day and only gave up two goals on the weekend.  He is now 4-3-0 on the season. 

The Blugolds will be on the road next weekend as they return to NCHA conference play against UW-Stevens Point.  Action will begin at 7:00 p.m. 


Men's Hockey Wins Championship
November 27, 2011 Men's Hockey Wins Championship
Men's Hockey Gets First Win
October 29, 2011 Men's Hockey Gets First Win