Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Basketball Earns Academic Honors

Men's Basketball Earns Academic Honors

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ( – Three UW-Eau Claire men's basketball players were named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court while the team was honored with a Team Academic Excellence Award, NABC officials recently announced.

View Team Academic Excellence Award

View Honors Court

Named to the Honors Court for UW-Eau Claire were Eric Effertz (Jr.-Ladysmith, Wis.), Kurtis Moody (So.-Pequot Lakes, Minn.) and Cavan Stackpool (So.-Virginia, Minn.).

In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications are as follows:

1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player.

2. Cumulative G.P.A. of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2013-14 academic year.

3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution.

4. Member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution.

The Blugolds were also recognized with a Team Academic Excellence Award, which is in its second year. These awards recognize outstanding academic achievement by a team with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the 2013-14 season. In order to earn a NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, institutions in NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA Division I and II, must count the grade point averages of all men's student-athletes who competed during the 2013-14 season