Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Basketball Announces Team Award Winners

Men's Basketball Announces Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - The UW-Eau Claire men's basketball team honored its players for their seasonal achievements as head coach Matt Siverling recently announced the 2012-13 team award winners at the end-of-year banquet.

Jordan Petersen (Sr.-Strum, Wis./Eleva-Strum) was named the team's Most Valuable Player. Petersen tied for second on the team in scoring this season, averaging 11.2 points per game, which was 17th best in the WIAC. He led the team in field goal percentage (.470) and also had a team-high 55 assists. He led the Blugolds in three-point field goal percentage, 29-for-73 (.397 percent), which was fifth best in the conference. Petersen earned All-WIAC honorable mention recognition this season. Previously, he earned the team's defense award in 2011.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Eric Effertz (So.-Ladysmith, Wis.). Effertz played in 24 of the Blugolds' 25 games this season and averaged six points per game, fifth most on the team. He had 51 assists, second most on the team and 14th most in the conference.

Receiving the Blugold Award was Andy Kleist (Sr.-Eau Claire, Wis./North). He started all 25 games this season and led the team in offensive rebounding with 2.4 per game, second most in the conference. Kleist averaged 4.7 points and 4.4 rebounds per game and was named to the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team this season.

Trevor Berkley (So.-St. Michael, Minn./Rogers) was selected as the team's Most Improved Player. He played in 14 games this season, averaging 1.2 points and 5.8 minutes per game.

The Blugolds finished the season with a 10-15 overall and 4-12 conference record, in seventh place in the conference.