Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Former Coach & Five Blugolds Honored on WIAC Men's Basketball All-Time Team

Former Coach & Five Blugolds Honored on WIAC Men's Basketball All-Time Team

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Men's Basketball All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

A total of five former Blugolds were named to the All-Time Team while Ken Anderson was named an All-Time Co-Coach. View More Info

Men's Basketball All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Merrill Brunson UW-Platteville 1997-2000 Richland Center, Wis.
Tony Carr (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1979-82 Beloit, Wis. (Memorial)
Tim Dworak UW-Oshkosh 2000-03 Kewaunee, Wis.
Ty Evans UW-Whitewater 1993-94 Beloit, Wis. (Memorial)
Gib Hinz (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1977-80 Winneconne, Wis.
Ben Hoffman UW-Platteville 1995-98 Hartford, Wis. (Union)
Jason Kalsow UW-Stevens Point 2002-05 Huntley, Ill.
Roger Kuss UW-River Falls 1951-53 River Falls, Wis.
Aubrey Lewis-Byers UW-Whitewater 2000-03 Janesville, Wis. (Craig)
Rich Melzer UW-River Falls 2001-04 Minneapolis, Minn. (River Falls, Wis.)
Tim Naegeli UW-Stevens Point 1984-87 Racine, Wis.
Terry Porter UW-Stevens Point 1982-85 Milwaukee, Wis. (South Division)
Mike Ratliff (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1969-72 Racine, Wis. (Horlick)
Frank Schade (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1970-72 Wausau, Wis.
Ralph Sims UW-Oshkosh 1975-78 Waukegan, Ill. (East)
Chester Smith (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1984-85 Dallas, Texas (Wilmer Hutchins)
Joe Werner UW-La Crosse 2004-07 Chippewa Falls, Wis. (McDonell)
Men's Basketball All-Time Co-Coaches:  Ken Anderson (UW-Eau Claire) (1969-95) - More Info- and Bo Ryan (UW-Platteville) (1985-99)
*Indicates hometown and high school while attending school

WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration