Four Blugold Football Players Earn NFF Honor Society Recognition

Four Blugold Football Players Earn NFF Honor Society Recognition

DALLAS, Texas ( – Four UW-Eau Claire football players have been named to the National Football Foundation's (NFF) 2014 Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF announced today.

View Official NFF Announcement

Earning recognition this season were Jy Corbett (Sr.-Port Edwards, Wis./John Edwards), Coltan Ellis (Sr.-Rice Lake, Wis.), Nick Hirsch (Sr.-Wind Lake, Wis./Muskego) and Mitch Olson (Sr.-New Auburn, Wis./Chi-Hi).

Around the WIAC, six others were named to the honor society. UW-Whitewater had four players while UW-Oshkosh and UW-Stout earned one spot each. The NFF Hampshire Honor Society honors college football players from every division (I, II and III). A total of 838 players from 267 schools qualified for membership in the society's eighth year, setting a new record for the number of members in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.