Joe Merten Coaching Award

This UW-Eau Claire athletics award was created in 2008 and is available to any part-time assistant coach, graduate assistant coach, community coach or student coach on the Blugold coaching staff. This annual award, which involves a monetary stipend, was established by the family of basketball Hall of Famer Joe Merten who died in March 2008 to honor his memory. Based on the family’s criteria, the recipient "shall demonstrate a deep commitment to the student-athletes and embody a passion for lifelong learning and the 'love of the game'."

2008 – Kimamo Wahome
2009 – Amanda Zenner
2010 – Amanda Schultz
2011 – Liz Germonprez
2012 – Paul Conlin
2013 – Erik Strand
2014 - Jeremy Deterville

2015 - Seth Hoyer

2016 - Marcie Schwamberger

2017 - Elroy Perkin

2018 - John Peterson