Blugold Cross Country Teams Receive Academic Honors

Blugold Cross Country Teams Receive Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS, La. ( – The UW-Eau Claire men's and women's cross country teams were recently recognized by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association with academic awards.

Both the men's and women's teams were named to the USTFCCCA's All-Academic Teams. The men were selected after achieving a 3.17 GPA while the women earned a 3.53. Around the nation, 141 men's teams earned the award while 197 women's teams were selected.

To qualify as a USTFCCCA All-Academic Cross Country Team, the team must have had a cumulative team GPA of 3.10 or better.

In addition to the team honors, four Blugold women and two Blugold men earned 2012 Division III All-Academic Cross Country status. Those named to the teams were:

Aaron Easker (Sr.-Eland, Wis./Wittenberg-Birnamwood)
Jeremy Kieser (Sr.-Verona, Wis.)
Ashlyn Mauer (Sr.-Sheboygan Falls, Wis.)
Elaina Meurer (Fr.-Fond Du Lac, Wis./St. Mary's Springs Academy)
Madi Sawyer (Jr.-Champlin, Minn./Park)
Steph Sjostrom (Sr.-Champlin, Minn./Park)

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.30 or greater through the most-recent semester and placed in the top 35 at the NCAA Regional Championships. A total of 201 women and 162 men were selected to their respective teams.

Men's All-Academic Teams

Women's All-Academic Teams

Men's All-Academic Individuals

Women's All-Academic Individuals