Schoenfelder Selected WIAC Women's Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete

Schoenfelder Selected WIAC Women's Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete

MADISON, Wis. ( - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's Erin Schoenfelder has been chosen the recipient of the 2013 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Judy Kruckman Women's Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete Award.

View on

A senior from Antioch, Ill. (Community), Schoenfelder is majoring in elementary education with a minor in Spanish and sustains a 3.98 grade point average.  She is a two-time member of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team and received the NCAA Elite 89 Award during the 2013 indoor track & field season.  Schoenfelder has earned a spot on the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll three consecutive years and been selected to UW-Eau Claire's Dean's List seven semesters.  She has also received numerous academic scholarships from her institution. 

A team captain, Schoenfelder secured the WIAC title in the 100-meter hurdles at the conference championship and placed third in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles.  She won the 400-meter intermediate hurdles in 2011 after finishing second in 2010.  Schoenfelder received her team's Rookie of the Year honor in 2010 and is a member of the 4x400-meter relay team that owns the school record.

Schoenfelder is President of UW-Eau Claire's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and Future Teachers Club.  She has participated in a Reading Partner Program, Thanksgiving Food Drive and Community Clean-Up.  Among her volunteer pledges are Special Olympics and UW-Eau Claire athletics events.

Also nominated for this year's scholar-athlete award were:  UW-La Crosse's Becky Scheuermann (Sr., Eau Claire, Wis./Regis); UW-Oshkosh's McKenzie Kelly (Sr., New Richmond, Wis.); UW-Platteville's Deidre Dillman (Sr., Prairie du Chien, Wis.); UW-River Falls' Katie Rydeen (Sr. Osceola, Wis.); UW-Stevens Point's Erin Kline (Sr., Casco, Wis./Luxemburg-Casco); UW-Stout's Alexa Bitzer (Sr., Eden Prairie, Minn.) and UW-Whitewater's Janna Bartels (Sr., Verona, Wis.).

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98.  Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from October 1984 - September 1996.  Kruckman was the women's athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WWIAC when it formed in 1971.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average.  In addition, she must be in her last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.