Women's Indoor Track & Field Takes Second at WIAC Championship

Women's Indoor Track & Field Takes Second at WIAC Championship

MENOMONIE, Wis. (Blugolds.com) – The UW-Eau Claire women's indoor track & field team finished in second place at the 2012 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Championship in Johnson Fieldhouse at UW-Stout today.

UW-Oshkosh won its second consecutive and 13th overall title with 152 points. The Blugolds came in second with 121 while UW-La Crosse was third with 108. This was the fifth straight year the Blugolds finished in second place.

The Blugolds captured three individual conference titles while taking runner-up in five other events.

Jordanne Greenup (Sr.-Fridley, Minn.) won two conference championships. She came in first the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.78 seconds while coming in first in the 200-meter dash with a time of 25.30 seconds. Both times were school records. The previous 60-meter dash record was set earlier this season while the previous 200-meter dash record was achieved by Liz Kooistra on both Jan. 18, 2008 and March 1, 2009.

In the 400-meter dash, Talisa Emberts (Sr.-Sussex, Wis./Sussex-Hamilton) broke a facility record as she won with a time of 57.03 seconds. She was also second in the 200-meter dash.

Kim Miresse (Sr.-Waukesha, Wis./North) set a school record in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 9.00 seconds as she finished in second place.

Also coming in second place was Greenup, Emberts, Megan Mulligan (Fr.-Lake Geneva, Wis./Badger) and Kayla Kelsey (Fr.-Sparta, Wis.) in the 4x200-meter relay with a school record time of 1:43.29. The previous school record of 1:43.48 was set on Feb. 24, 2007.

Brittany Frederick (Sr.-Green Bay, Wis./Preble) also shattered her own school record of 16.91 meters in the weight throw as she took second today with a toss of 18.15 meters (59-6.75).

Following the championship, Michelle Baranek (Sr.-Port Washington, Wis.) was named to the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Next Saturday, the Blugolds will compete at the UW-Stevens Point Last Chance meet. Action will get underway at 10:30 a.m.