Women's Tennis Runner-Up at WIAC Championship

Women's Tennis Runner-Up at WIAC Championship

MADISON, Wis. (Blugolds.com) – The UW-Eau Claire women's tennis team finished second at the 2011 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships at the Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

The Blugolds placed second with 17 points in the overall championship, the Blugolds' highest finish since 2007-08. UW-Whitewater won the team championship for the fifth consecutive year, recording 21 points this year and won every match title. UW-Oshkosh rounded out the top three teams with 15 points.

The Blugolds recorded four runner-up finishes in singles competition. Gretchen Bachmeier (Jr.-Eau Claire, Wis./North) took second place in the No. 2 match while Katie Gillman (So.-Red Wing, Minn.) earned second in the No. 3 spot. Renee Nelson (Fr.-Madison, Wis./La Follette) finished in second place in the No. 5 spot. Lexi DeMario (So.-Verona, Wis./Verona Area) overcame a tough second-round battle 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, but ultimately fell 6-2, 6-1 in the No. 6 championship match.

In doubles play, the duo of Taylor Heltne (Jr.-Inver Grove Heights, Minn./Simley) and Gillman had the best outing in the No. 1 match. After enjoying a first round bye, the pair defeated La Crosse 8-6 to advance to the championship match. However, Whitewater edged just past the Blugolds, winning 9-7.

Eau Claire also received honors off the court. Head coach Tom Gillman earned the co-coach of the year award, a prize shared with Whitewater coach Frank Barnes. Gillman also earned the award in 2001 and 2002. Mary Frassetto (So.-Oshkosh, W/West) represented the Eau Claire on the WIAC All-Sportsmanship team. Members of the honorary team are recognized for their superior sportsmanship throughout the course of the tournament.


Women's Tennis Sweeps UW-Stout
September 15, 2011 Women's Tennis Sweeps UW-Stout