Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Tennis Hands out Team Honors

Women's Tennis Hands out Team Honors

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - The UW-Eau Claire women's tennis team awarded five players with the annual team awards, head coach Tom Gillman recently announced.

Katie Gillman (Fr.-Red Wing, Minn.) was named the 2010-11 Player of the Year. Gillman concluded the season with an 11-7 record in singles and 14-8 in doubles. She also finished runner-up in the No. 3 singles WIAC championship match.

Stephanie Wolf (Fr.-Verona, Wis./Verona Area) earned the Most Improved award. Wolf finished 5-5 in singles, 9-5 in doubles. Wolf also earned the All-Sportsmanship award at the WIAC championships last fall for her superior display of sportsmanship.

Taylor Heltne (So.-Inver Grove Heights, Minn./Simley) received recognition with the team's Blugold award. She concluded the season 12-11 in singles and 15-11 in doubles play. Heltne was also last year's Most Improved player.

Mary Frassetto (Fr.-Oshkosh, Wis./West) and Gretchen Bachmeier (So.-Eau Claire, Wis./North) were also honored with team awards. Frassetto, who finished 3-6 in singles and 14-13 in doubles, earned the Team Player award. Bachmeier earned the Coaches' award. She concluded the season 13-9 in singles play and 14-13 in doubles.