Women's Soccer Names Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. (Blugolds.com) – UW-Eau Claire women's soccer coach Sean Yengo recently announced the winners of the annual team awards at the year-end banquet.

Allie Stone (Sr.-Madison, Wis./Verona Area) was named the team's Most Valuable Player while also earning the Playmaker of the Year Award. For the third time in her career, Stone was selected to the All-WIAC team this season. A midfielder, Stone finished the year with seven points coming from two goals and three assists. She was second on the team with two game-winning goals, tied for fifth in the conference. Stone previously earned the Playmaker of the Year Award in 2012 and 2010.

Caroline Henderson (So.-Duluth, Minn./East) received the Offensive Player of the Year Award. Henderson led the Blugolds in points this season with 22 after scoring 11 goals. Her point total was the third best in the WIAC while her 11 goals ranked second in the conference. She also had three game-winning goals, tied for third in the league and first on the team. She was selected to the All-WIAC team this season.

Defensive Player of the Year honors were presented to Ashley O'Connell (So.-Appleton, Wis.). For the second time in her career, O'Connell was named to the All-WIAC team this season. She was part of a Blugold defense that gave up 196 shots and 64 goals while the Blugolds recorded 289 shots and 90 goals. The Blugolds also defended against 114 corner kicks this season. Last season O'Connell was named Freshman Player of the Year.

Named the Freshman Player of the Year this season was Jocelyn Etten (Fr.-Elkhorn, Wis.). A midfielder, Etten played in all 20 games this season and finished the year with six points coming from two goals and two assists.

Alice Gullekson (Fr.-Decorah, Iowa) earned the Most Improved award. Gullekson, a defender, played in three games this season.

Receiving the Practice Player of the Year award was Emily Turi (Sr.-North St. Paul, Minn.). A defender, Turi played in 18 games this season and picked up one goal and one assist.

Abby Beinlich (Sr.-Madison, Wis./Memorial) received the Golden Shoe Award for the second time in her career. A midfielder, Beinlich played in 20 games this season and recorded one assist.

The 2014 captains were also announced at the banquet and they were O'Connell and Teighlor Tvedt (Jr.-Verona, Wis./Verona Area). A midfielder, Tvedt played in all 20 games, starting 10 of them, and picked up two goals.