Home | Schedule | Roster | Coaches | 2017 Yearbook | Recruit/Prospect Form | Stats | Blugoal & Shutout Club | Camps | Give Now | Youth Day - 9/14 | Blugold Buddies | News | Recruit Information | Athletes of the Week | History, Honors & Records | 2015 Summer Training Manual | All Season Award Winners | Video of Soccer Program | Mission Statement | Family Pavilion Project | Support the Blugolds

Rachel Nerison Named WIAC Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete

Rachel Nerison Named WIAC Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete

MADISON, Wis. (Blugolds.com) - University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's Rachel Nerison (Sr.-Maple Grove, Minn.) has been chosen the recipient of the 2011 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Judy Kruckman Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete Award.

View Announcement on WIACSports.com

Nerison, a senior from Maple Grove, Minn., boasts a 3.92 grade point average and is majoring in nursing. She was named to the 2011 Capital One NCAA Division III Academic All-District Six Women's Soccer First Team after receiving second team recognition a year ago. In 2010, Nerison also received National Soccer Coaches Association of America Scholar All-Region honors. She is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll and has been recognized on UW-Eau Claire's Dean's List and the Honors Program.

A two-time All-WIAC first team selection, Nerison has been a team captain the past two seasons and was named UW-Eau Claire's Offensive Player of the Year in 2010. This year, she tied for second on the team with six goals and 13 points. A season ago, Nerison was recognized on the WIAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

Nerison has served as a volunteer for Relay for Life, Project Cure, Youth Works International, Blugold Beginnings and the Center for Student Missions. She is a member of Athletes in Action, Intervarsity Christian Fellowship and the Viennese Ball Planning Committee. Nerison also helped select the school's Associate Dean of Nursing.

Also nominated for this year's scholar-athlete award were: UW-La Crosse's Kristin Brown (Sr., Madison, Wis./La Follette); UW-Oshkosh's Jennifer Nesbitt (Sr., Sturgeon Bay, Wis.); UW-Superior's Amanda Akason (Sr., Pine Island, Minn.); and UW-Whitewater's Pam Lisowe (Sr., New Holstein, Wis.).

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she functioned as Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women's Intercollegiate Athletic Conference from October, 1984 - September, 1996.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, she must be in her last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.

# # # # #

Soccer Shuts Down St.  Benedict
September 9, 2011 Soccer Shuts Down St. Benedict