Blugold Wrestling Team Award Winners Announced

Blugold Wrestling Team Award Winners Announced

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( – Four UW-Eau Claire wrestlers have been honored by being named recipients of team awards for the 2013-14 season.

Selected MVP was Ryan Seidler (Sr.-Adams, Wis./Adams-Friendship). Seidler finished the season with a 29-10 record at 149 pounds and was one of two Blugolds to compete at the NCAA Championship after finishing in third place at the NCAA Regional.

Luke Ortscheid (Sr.-Wausau, Wis./West) was named most improved. Ortscheid, competing at both 184 and 197 pounds, completed the year with a 26-18 overall record. He took sixth place at the NCAA Regional in March.

Earning the Freshman of the Year award was Josh Cormican (Fr.-Boyceville, Wis.). Competing at 197, 184 and 174 pounds, Cormican finished the year with an 18-18 record.

Nathaniel Behnke (So.-Bruce, Wis.) received the Ricky Gonzales Memorial award. Behnke competed at the NCAA Championship this year, where he went 2-2. He advanced to nationals after winning at 141 pounds at the NCAA Regional and completed the season with a 38-11 record. Last season Behnke was named MVP and Freshman of the Year.