Men's Cross Country Names Recipients of Team Awards

Men's Cross Country Names Recipients of Team Awards

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - As 2010 comes to a close, UW-Eau Claire men's cross country coach Dan Schwamberger recently revealed the winners of the team awards at the annual banquet.

Tom Breitbach (Sr.-Muskego, Wis.) earned top honors as the team's most valuable runner. This season, Breitbach was the top-finishing Blugold in six of the seven events in which he competed. Boosted by a 15th place run at regionals, Breitbach was awarded an individual selection to the NCAA Division III National competition where he finished 93rd with a time of 25:25.

Max Renner (Sr.-Green Bay, Wis./East) earned this season's Blugold Award. Renner recorded broke the top 12 twice this season, once at the Alumni Open and later at the Blugold Open. Renner capped off the year by finishing 36th at regional competition.

The most valuable freshman award was given to Matt Scott (Fr.-Kiel, Wis.). In his first year of collegiate running, Scott competed in six events, highlighted by a victory at the Luther JV Cup.

The team's most improved award went to Aric Runzheimer (So.-Delafield, Wis./Kettle Moraine). In his second year with the Blugolds, Runzheimer completed five events and raced to 30th spot at the regional event.

Three Blugolds – Renner, Kevin Weber (Sr.-Mounds View, Minn./Irondale) and Josh Wieland (Sr.-Menomonie, Wis.) – earned four-year letterwinner awards. In his final season of competition with the Blugolds, Weber ran in eight events and earned second at the JV Cup. Wieland came away with the win at the St. Mary's Invite and placed 104th at the regional competition.