Men's Track & Field Team Award Winners Announced

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - UW-Eau Claire men's track & field head coach Chip Schneider recently revealed the winners of the 2014 team awards.

For the second year in a row, Thurgood Dennis (Jr.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) was named the team's MVP. Dennis won two indoor national titles this season, the 60 and 200-meter dashes, setting Division III records in both events. Earlier in the indoor season, he won WIAC titles both at 60 and 200 meters and as a member of the 4×200 and 4×400 relays. He was named the Division III Indoor Track National Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association and was honored as the Most Outstanding Track Performer of the Division III Indoor Championship and the WIAC Indoor Championship. At the WIAC Outdoor Championship, he won the 100-meter dash while he was part of the winning 4x100-meter relay team. In 2012, Dennis earned the team's Newcomer of the Year award.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Jimmy Paske (Fr.-Minnetonka, Minn./Hopkins). At the WIAC Indoor Championship, Paske was part of the winning 4x200 and 4x400-meter relays. He also claimed All-American honors at the NCAA Division III Indoor Championship as he was part of the 4x400-meter relay team that came in fifth place.

Jacob Dennis-Oehling (Sr.-Whitewater, Wis.) was honored with the Captain Award. Dennis-Oehling finished his career as a four-time All-American, two from indoor and two from outdoor. In 2011, Dennis-Oehling earned the team's Newcomer of the Year award.