Thurgood Dennis Named Division III Indoor National Athlete of the Year

NEW ORLEANS, La. ( - UW-Eau Claire men's indoor track member Thurgood Dennis (Jr.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) has been named the Division III Indoor Track National Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

View Official Announcement

Dennis, a junior from Allouez, Wis., was a double national champion at 60 and 200 meters at the NCAA Division III Indoor Championships in Lincoln, Neb., in leading the Blugolds to a runner-up team finish. His winning 6.68 at 60 meters set a new Division III record by .01 over Chaz Clemons and Dayne Ross of Lincoln in 2003 and 1999, respectively.

He also set a new Division III record for 200 meters with a 21.27 win, again by just .01 over the old mark of 21.28 by Bret Blake of Nebraska Wesleyan in 2004. He also ran a leg of the fifth-place 4×400 relay team.

Earlier in the season he won WIAC titles both at 60 and 200 meters and as a member of the 4×200 and 4×400 relays.

On March 25, Dennis was also named the Most Outstanding Track Performer of the Division III Indoor Championship. View Announcement