Four Blugolds Named to WIAC Men's Track and Field All-Time Team

Four Blugolds Named to WIAC Men's Track and Field All-Time Team

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Men's Track and Field All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

Four Blugolds were named to the All-Time Team (Eric Burrell, Jase Graber, Dan Kelner and Jason Slaikeu).

Men's Track and Field All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Brett Altergott UW-La Crosse 1994-98 Little Chute, Wis.
Terry Anders UW-Stout 1994-97 Cornell, Wis.
Kevin Becker UW-La Crosse 2004-07 Rochester, Minn. (Mayo)
Nick Boehlke UW-Oshkosh 2002-03, 05-06 Three Lakes, Wis.
Dan Buntman UW-Stevens Point 1976-80 Green Bay, Wis. (West)
Eric Burrell (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1987-90 Chicago, Ill. (Hugh Manley)
Dean Cash UW-La Crosse 1989-92 Sun Prairie, Wis.
Paul Conlin UW-Platteville 1990-93 Durand, Wis.
David Coates UW-La Crosse 1991-94 Green Bay, Wis.
Kevin Deering UW-Oshkosh 2003, 2005 East Troy, Wis. (Mukwonago)
Jim Drews UW-La Crosse 1971-74 Waukesha, Wis. (South)
Jase Graber (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1992-96 Gunnison, Colo.
Matt Groose UW-Oshkosh 2000-03 Watertown, Wis.
Jim Hanson UW-La Crosse 1975-78 Beloit, Wis. (Catholic)
Joe Hanson UW-La Crosse 1974-77 Beloit, Wis. (Catholic)
Max Harn UW-Oshkosh 1983-86 Berlin, Wis.
Brandon Houle UW-Oshkosh 2005-07 Oshkosh, Wis. (North)
Dan Hytinen UW-Whitewater 2005-08 South Milwaukee, Wis.
Willy Kaul UW-Oshkosh 2005-09 Menomonee Falls, Wis.
(Milwaukee Lutheran)
Dan Kelner (More Info) UW-Superior/
UW-Eau Claire
1987-89/1990-91 Mounds View, Minn.
Shannon King UW-Oshkosh 1999-2001 Waukegan, Ill. (West)
Ryan Kleimenhagen UW-Platteville 2002-05 Oak Creek, Wis.
John Kruchoski UW-Whitewater 1979-82 Whitewater, Wis.
Dave Lambert UW-Oshkosh 1989-92 Oshkosh, Wis. (Lourdes)
Jason Lehman UW-Stout 1995-98 Bruce, Wis.
Jim Nelson UW-La Crosse 2001-04 La Crosse, Wis. (Logan)
Mike Neumann UW-Oshkosh 1987-90 Hubertus, Wis. (Germantown)
Tom Newberry UW-La Crosse 1983-86 Onalaska, Wis.
Earl Novotney UW-La Crosse 1985-88 Chippewa Falls, Wis.
Nate Olson UW-La Crosse 2003-06 Stevens Point, Wis. (SPASH)
Bobby Riley UW-La Crosse 2005, 2007-09 Wittenberg, Wis.
Andrew Rock UW-La Crosse 2001-04 Stratford, Wis.
Tom Rath UW-Oshkosh 1967-68, 1970 Two Rivers, Wis. (Washington)
Hans Schmidt UW-La Crosse 2001-04 Park Falls, Wis.
Chip Schneider UW-Platteville 1992-95 Lancaster, Wis.
Mike Schnur UW-La Crosse 1994-97 Balsam Lake, Wis. (Unity)
Bill Schroeder UW-La Crosse 1990-93 Sheboygan, Wis. (South)
Tyler Sigl UW-Platteville 2005-08 Seymour, Wis.
James Simms UW-Oshkosh 2007-10 Fredonia, Wis. (Ozaukee)
Jason Slaikeu (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1994-98 Cushing, Wis. (Grantsburg)
Scott Steuernagel UW-Oshkosh 1989-90, 1992 Tomahawk, Wis.
Terry Strouf UW-La Crosse 1985-89 Ojibwa, Wis.
Doug Sutherland UW-Superior 1967-70 Superior, Wis. (Central)
Derek Toshner UW-La Crosse 2001-04 Fond du Lac, Wis.
Matt Thull UW-Oshkosh 1994-97 Campbellsport, Wis.
Mike Turgeon UW-Stout/
UW-La Crosse
2001/2002-04 Perham, Minn.
Danny Tutskey UW-La Crosse 1999-2002 Rock Island, Ill.
Jeremy Wendt UW-Whitewater 2001-04 Hampshire, Ill. (Burlington)
Jerry Young UW-Whitewater 1977-80 Milwaukee, Wis. (North)
Ben Zill UW-Oshkosh 2007-10 New Franken, Wis.
(Green Bay Preble)
Men's Track and Field All-Time Coach:  Mark Guthrie (UW-La Crosse) (1988-2006)
*Indicates hometown and high school while attending school

WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration