Men's Tennis Names Team Award Winners

Men's Tennis Names Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( – The UW-Eau Claire men's tennis team awarded five players with team honors for the 2011-12 season, head coach Tom Gillman announced.

Ryan Vande Linde (So.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial) was named the team's Player of the Year. Vande Linde compiled a 19-9 overall record in singles play, primarily competing in the No. 2 spot where he finished with a 13-8 record. In doubles competition, he finished 15-13 overall, going 12-12 in the No. 2 spot.

Selected as the most improved player was Joe Meier (So.-Hutchinson, Minn.). Meier completed the year with a 23-8 overall singles record. He mostly competed at No. 5 singles, where he finished with a 15-4 record. He also compiled a 10-7 overall record in doubles play.

Chris Kuna (Sr.-Edina, Minn.) received the Coaches Award. Playing at No. 1 singles, Kuna finished the year with a 14-13 overall record while he went 12-12 in dual competitions. He also competed at No. 1 doubles and ended the year with a 17-7 overall record.

Earning the Blugold Award was Ben Robertson (Jr.-Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong). Robertson finished the season with a 10-2 overall singles record, primarily playing in the No. 6 spot, while finishing with a 9-1 overall doubles record.

Dirk Van Rybroek (Sr.-Madison, Wis./Edgewood) was presented with the Team Player Award. Van Rybroek finished the year with a 2-1 singles and 7-9 doubles record.

Florent Marco (Jr.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial) and Robertson were selected as team captains for the 2012-13 season.