Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Tennis Announces Team Award Winners

Men's Tennis Announces Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( - The UW-Eau Claire men's tennis team honored five players with annual team awards, head coach Tom Gillman recently announced.

For the second consecutive year, Chris Kuna (Jr.-Edina, Minn.) earned the team's Player of the Year award. Kuna finished the season with a 20-4 singles record playing in the No. 1 spot. He also racked up the most doubles wins of any Blugold player, finishing the season 22-7.

Florent Marco (So.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial) earned recognition as the team's most improved player. Marco saw significantly more playing time this season, jumping from 13 singles matches in 2009-10 to 27 this season. He concluded the 2010-11 campaign with a 20-7 from mostly the No. 4 spot and 17-10 in doubles.

Dirk Van Rybroek (Jr.-Madison, Wis./Edgewood) and Ben Robertson (So.-Plymouth, Minn./Robbinsdale Armstrong) also received team awards. Van Rybroek was named the Team Player for the season. He ended the year with a 20-5 record in doubles and 4-3 in singles play. Robertson earned the Blugold award for the second straight year. This season, he finished 16-8 in singles and 5-2 in doubles.

Eric Wollum (Sr.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial) picked up the Coaches' award. Wollum tallied a 20-6 singles record and a 20-5 doubles record. Wollum also earned the Coaches' award in 2008-09 and earned the team's Most Improved award last season.