Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Hockey Announces Team Award Winners

Men's Hockey Announces Team Award Winners

EAU CLAIRE, Wis. ( – The UW-Eau Claire men's hockey team honored its players for their efforts during the 2011-12 season as head coach Matt Loen recently announced the team award winners.

Brandon Stephenson (Jr.-Saline, Mich.) received the Jeff Jaraczewski MVP award. Starting 22 of the Blugolds' 28 games this season at goalie, Stephenson made 507 saves while allowing just 46 goals for a .917 save percentage, which ranked third-best in the NCHA. He had a 2.08 goals-against-average, playing almost 1325 minutes. Stephenson finished the season with a 10-9-3 record and had two shutouts. After three seasons with the Blugolds, Stephenson currently ranks No. 1 on the school's all-time save percentage and goals-against-average lists while he is second with six shutouts.

For the second straight year, Tyler Jundt (Sr.-Williston, N.D.) was presented with the Richard G. O'Brien Academic and Athletic Excellence award. Jundt earned NCHA and WIAC Scholar-Athlete honors this season. Competing in 25 games, Jundt was part of the Blugolds' defense that allowed 709 shots while the Blugolds had 875. He also finished with 12 points, which tied for fifth on the team, coming from three goals and nine assists.

Ross Andersen (Fr.-River Falls, Wis.) earned the Wallace G. Akervik Freshman of the Year award. Andersen was third on the team this year with 17 points. He had 10 goals, which ranked second on the team, and seven assists. Two of his goals were game-winners.

Jundt and Robbie Anderegg (So.-Urbandale, Iowa/Dowling Catholic) shared most dedicated honors. Anderegg, who was also part of the Blugolds' defense, played in 25 games this season and finished with two assists.

Named team captains for next season were Andrew McCabe (Jr.-Eau Claire, Wis./Memorial), Kurt Weston (Jr.-Roseau, Minn.) and Jordan Singer (Jr.-Lino Lakes, Minn./Centennial).


Men's Hockey Wins Championship
November 27, 2011 Men's Hockey Wins Championship
Men's Hockey Gets First Win
October 29, 2011 Men's Hockey Gets First Win