Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Alex Hicks Named to WIAC Men's Ice Hockey All-Time Team

Alex Hicks Named to WIAC Men's Ice Hockey All-Time Team

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Men's Ice Hockey All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

From UW-Eau Claire, Alex Hicks was named to the team (click for more info).

Men's Ice Hockey All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Brady Alstead UW-River Falls 1996-99 Plymouth, Minn. (Wayzata)
Aaron Arf UW-River Falls 1994-97 Golden Valley, Minn.
Paul Caufield UW-Stevens Point 1988-92 Greendale, Wis.
Frank Cirone UW-Stevens Point 1990-94 Scarborough, Ontario (Neil McNeil)
Tim Coghlin UW-Stevens Point 1985-89 Penticton, British Columbia
(Summerland Senior Academy)
T.J. Dahl UW-River Falls 2005-08 Burnsville, Minn.
Tom D'Andrea UW-River Falls 1983-84 Cottage Grove, Minn. (Park)
Gary Fritch UW-Superior 1973-76 Duluth, Minn. (East)
Mas Fukushima UW-Superior 1972-75 Geraldton, Ontario (Composite)
Forrest Gore UW-Stevens Point 1996-98 Palmer, Alaska
David Graichen UW-Superior 1993-97 Salem, N.H. (Governor Academy)
Jim Henkemeyer UW-River Falls 2005-08 St. Cloud, Minn. (Apollo)
Alex Hicks (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1989-92 Calgary, Alberta
Adam Kragthorpe UW-River Falls 2000-03 Plymouth, Minn. (Armstrong)
Glen Lang UW-Superior 1991-93 Columbia Heights, Minn. (Breck School)
Mike Piette UW-River Falls 1980-83 Woodbury, Minn.
Arron Scott UW-River Falls 1987-90 Penticton, British Columbia
Men's Ice Hockey All-Time Coach:  Mark Mazzoleni (UW-Stevens Point) (1986-91)
*Indicates hometown and high school while attending school


WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration

Men's Hockey Wins Championship
November 27, 2011 Men's Hockey Wins Championship
Men's Hockey Gets First Win
October 29, 2011 Men's Hockey Gets First Win