Six Blugold Football Players Earn NFF Honor Society Recognition

Six Blugold Football Players Earn NFF Honor Society Recognition

DALLAS, Texas ( – Six UW-Eau Claire football players have been named to the National Football Foundation's (NFF) 2012 Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF recently announced.

Earning recognition this season were Cameron Beilke (Sr.-Marathon, Wis.), David Goodman (Sr.-Neenah, Wis.), Josh Metzger (Sr.-Green Bay, Wis./Bay Port), Ryan Moertel (Sr.-Rochester, Minn./Century), Chris Olson (Sr.-Stratford, Wis.) and Abe Ward (Sr.-Faribault, Minn.).

Around the WIAC, five others were named to the honor society. UW-Whitewater and UW-Platteville both had two players apiece while UW-Oshkosh earned one spot. The NFF Hampshire Honor Society honors college football players from every division (I, II and III). A total of 722 players from 233 schools qualified for membership in the society's sixth year, marking this year's class as the largest since the program's creation in 2007.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include: Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university; achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.