Six Former Blugolds Named to WIAC Football All-Time Team

Six Former Blugolds Named to WIAC Football All-Time Team

MADISON, Wis. ( - The Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) announced today the Football All-Time Team that will be recognized in conjunction with the conference's upcoming Centennial Celebration. All-Time Teams are being selected in those men's and women's sports that have been classified as "championship" sports at some point during the conference's 100-year history. Additional teams will be released on a weekly basis throughout much of the 2011-12 academic year.

Named to the team were Wil Beech, Mike March, Darrell Souhrada, Jim Van Gorden, Roger Vann and Lee Weigel. View more info below

Football All-Time Team
Name School Years Participated Hometown (High School)*
Brent Allen UW-Whitewater 2004-07 Mukwonago, Wis.
Bill Barwick UW-Whitewater 1973-75 Beloit, Wis. (Memorial)
Kirk Baumgartner UW-Stevens Point 1986-89 Colby, Wis.
Justin Beaver UW-Whitewater 2004-07 Palmyra, Wis. (Palmyra-Eagle)
Tony Beckham UW-Stout 1998-2001 Ocala, Fla. (Forest)
Wil Beech (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1984-87 Milwaukee, Wis. (Pius)
Willie Berzinski UW-La Crosse 1952-55 Arcadia, Wis.
Chuck Braun UW-Stevens Point 1978-81 Athens, Wis.
Joe Bullis UW-Stout 1975-76, 78-79 Lake Geneva, Wis. (Badger)
Jim Byrne UW-La Crosse 1980-83 Brooklyn, N.Y.
Luke Bundgaard UW-Stout 2000-03 Weyerhaeuser, Wis. (Bruce)
Chris Charnish UW-Platteville 1967-70 Milwaukee, Wis. (Pius)
Levell Coppage UW-Whitewater 2008-11 Oak Park, Ill.
Greg Corning UW-River Falls 1984-87 McFarland, Wis.
Al Equi UW-Whitewater 1966-67 Glenbard, Ill. (East)
Reed Giordana UW-Stevens Point 1974-77 Kaukauna, Wis.
Eric Halverson UW-La Crosse 1993-96 Tomahawk, Wis.
Mike Hintz UW-Platteville 1984-87 Waukesha, Wis. (South)
Justin Jacobs UW-Whitewater 2002-05 Sun Prairie, Wis.
Jared Jenkins UW-Stevens Point 2007-10 Milwaukee, Wis. (Rufus King)
Spencer Johnson UW-Whitewater 1992-94 Madison, Wis. (Memorial)
Ryan Kleppe UW-Whitewater 2003-06 Mount Horeb, Wis.
Ben Knepper UW-Stout 2000-03 Rice Lake, Wis.
Scott Krause UW-Stevens Point 2000-03 Waunakee, Wis.
Clint Kriewaldt UW-Stevens Point 1995-98 Shiocton, Wis.
Craig Kusick UW-La Crosse 1993-95 Apple Valley, Minn. (Eagan)
Derrick LeVake UW-Whitewater 1995-97 West Allis, Wis. (Central)
Mike March (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1979-82 Antigo, Wis.
Mike Maslowski UW-La Crosse 1993-96 Thorp, Wis.
Mike Miller UW-Whitewater 1982-84 Madison, Wis. (Memorial)
Andy Moriarty UW-Oshkosh 2003-07 Mequon, Wis. (Homestead)
Tom Newberry UW-La Crosse 1982-85 Onalaska, Wis.
Ted Pretasky UW-La Crosse 1985-88 Holmen, Wis.
A.J. Raebel UW-Whitewater 2003-06 Cary Grove, Ill.
Claire Rasmussen UW-Oshkosh 1966-69 Green Lake, Wis.
Jace Rindahl UW-Whitewater 2005-08 Cambridge, Wis.
Barry Rose UW-Stevens Point 1988-91 Baldwin, Wis. (Baldwin-Woodville)
Aaron Rusch UW-Whitewater 2008-10 Hartford, Wis.
Max Sakellaris UW-Whitewater 2003-06 Oak Park, Ill.
Jeff Schebler UW-Whitewater 2006-09 Davenport, Iowa (Assumption)
Bill Schroeder UW-La Crosse 1993 Sheboygan, Wis. (South)
Randy Simpson UW-Stevens Point 1991-94 Phillips, Wis.
Gerard Sonsalla UW-River Falls 1978-81 Arcadia, Wis.
Darrell Souhrada (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1998-2001 Riceville, Iowa
John Stanek UW-La Crosse 1972-75 La Crosse, Wis. (Aquinas)
Derek Stanley UW-Whitewater 2003-06 Verona, Wis.
Doug Sutherland UW-Superior 1966-69 Superior, Wis. (Central)
Jim Van Gorden (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1961-64 Eau Claire, Wis. (Memorial)
Roger Vann (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1978-81 South Bend, Ind. (La Salle)
Jim Walters UW-Whitewater 1969-73 Pottsville, Pa.
Matt Weber UW-Whitewater 2008-10 Oregon, Wis.
Lee Weigel (More Info) UW-Eau Claire 1982-85 Marshfield, Wis.
Joel Williams UW-La Crosse 1976-78 Miami, Fla. (North)
Football All-Time Coach:  Roger Harring (UW-La Crosse) (1969-99)
*Indicates hometown and high school while attending school

WIAC Commissioner Gary Karner remarked that this has been an extremely difficult process given the 100-year span and incomparable success the conference has experienced in most of its sports. Karner noted that in some sports, even achieving All-American status didn't necessarily guarantee an athlete a spot on the team. He also acknowledged that while disagreement is inherent and expected whenever there is a selection of an all-time anything (be it a team, restaurant or movie), the conference nonetheless felt it important to recognize student-athletes and coaches who have contributed to the success of the most accomplished Division III conference in NCAA history.

The student-athlete representation on each team has relied heavily on input provided by the sports information director from each of the nine WIAC campuses, while the process for selecting the head coach(es) for each team also includes input from a panel of media representatives. The number of individuals selected per team varies depending upon the nature of the sport itself as well as the number of years the sport has/had been sponsored within the conference.

The conference has also elected to establish a special "legacy" category to recognize those student-athletes and coaches who had extremely accomplished careers but competed during an era(s) when the compilation of statistical data was spotty at best and/or the style of play at that time does not translate for comparative purposes to the stats prevalent in the modern era. The WIAC "Legacy Team" will also be named at a later date.

All-Time Team members will receive certificates from the conference and it is hoped that most, if not all, of the recipients will be in attendance or represented at the WIAC Centennial Banquet to be held at the Alliant Energy Center in Madison on August 4, 2012.

More information on the activities and events associated with the WIAC Centennial can be accessed via the WIAC website at

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation is the proud sponsor of the WIAC Centennial Celebration