Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Shea Named William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

Shea Named William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist

DALLAS, Texas ( - Selected as the best and brightest from the college gridiron, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) recently announced the 121 semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy), endowed by HealthSouth, and the candidates for the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Blugold football player Ben Shea (Sr.-Manitowoc, Wis./Lincoln) was named one of 27 semifinalists from NCAA Division III. Shea, a criminal justice major, holds a 3.84 grade point average and will graduate next fall. He is a linebacker for the Blugolds and is currently sixth on the team in tackles with 14. He has also recovered one fumble so far this season.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semifinalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF's Gold Medal.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results via national press release on Thursday, Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000 and receive a 25-pound bronze trophy, will be announced live at the NFF's Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the prestigious Waldorf=Astoria in New York City. A total distribution of $277,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening, bringing the NFF's all-time scholarship distribution to $9.5 million.

Launched in 1959, the NFF scholar-athlete program became the first initiative in history to award post-graduate scholarships based on both a player's academic and athletic accomplishments. The William V. Campbell Trophy, first awarded in 1990, adds to the program's mystique, having previously honored two Rhodes Scholars, a Rhodes Scholar finalist, two Heisman Trophy winners and five first-round NFL draft picks. The University of Florida's Tim Tebow was named the 2009 Campbell Trophy recipient and last year's finalists combined for a 3.77 average GPA. The class boasted 14 academic all-conference student-athletes, including seven academic All-America picks; 14 all-conference players, including six All-America picks; 16 team captains; one Heisman Trophy winner; and eight members of conference championship teams.

2010 William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalist Notes

  • 3.58 Average GPA
  • 46 Semifinalists with a 3.7 GPA or better
  • 69 All-Conference Picks
  • 76 Team Captains
  • 16 Academic All-America Selections
  • 20 All-America Selections
  • 26 Players (among all divisions) represented in this week's national top 25 polls
  • 2 Players formerly named NFF National High School Scholar-Athletes
  • 47 Nominees from the Football Bowl Subdivision
  • 28 Nominees from the Football Championship Subdivision
  • 12 Nominees from the Division II
  • 27 Nominees from the Division III
  • 7 Nominees from the NAIA
  • 56 Offensive Players
  • 48 Defensive Players
  • 17 Special Teams Players