Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2010 All-WIAC Football Team Announced

2010 All-WIAC Football Team Announced

MADISON, Wis. ( - A total of seven UW-Eau Claire football players were mentioned in this year's All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference team, Assistant Commissioner for Media Relations Matt Stanek announced today.

Four players were named second team selections, two for offense and two for defense.

On offense, Joel Sweeney (Fr.-Tomah, Wis.) and Matt Withrow (Jr.-Platteville, Wis.) were second-teamers while Dan Kinsella (Jr.-Stevens Point, Wis./SPASH/Univ. of Minn.) and Andy Neumann (Jr.-Germantown, Wis.) were selected on defense.

Sweeney, a running back, led the Blugolds and was third in the conference with 1,028 rushing yards in his first year with the team. The 1,028 yards is 14th best in a single season in program history and only 15 Blugolds have ever reached 1,000 rushing yards in a single season. Sweeney also had 217 rushing attempts, tied for 17th best in a single season, and had 12 rushing touchdowns, which tied for second best in the WIAC.

Withrow started all 10 games on the offensive line, starting once at left tackle while he started the final nine games at left guard. Withrow has started every game since his freshman season, bringing his total to 30 consecutive games started.

On defense, Neumann led the Blugolds with 77 tackles (60 solos, 17 assists), ranking sixth best in the league. He also had a team-high three sacks and seven tackles-for-loss while he forced two fumbles and had one recovery.

Kinsella, who started all 10 games at right end this year, finished with 27 tackles, including 4.5 tackles-for-loss. He also led the Blugolds with seven quarterback hurries and forced two fumbles while recovering another.

Receiving honorable mention recognition were David Goodman (Jr.-Neenah, Wis.) on offense and Kyle Thorpe (So.-Stanley, Wis./Stanley-Boyd/Moorhead St.) on defense. Goodman was a second team selection last season.

Dan Mahaffey (Sr.-Madison, Wis./Memorial) was also selected to the All-Sportsmanship team, which was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school.